University College of Science (erstwhile government Science College) was established in 1940. The college was taken into the fold of Tumkur University as one of the constituent colleges in 2010. Even since the inception of the college, the college has been making its excellence in teaching, research and extension activities. The college is accredited with Grade “B+” by NAAC in recognition of quality in education. Presently the college has about 1628 students.

The college has fifty-five permanent faculty members and around seventy guest faculties. Faculty members are dedicated, competent and well qualified. The personnel in the office of the Principal co-ordinate between the university and the college.
The college offers undergraduate, postgraduate and Ph.D courses in various disciplines leading to the award of Bachelor’s Degree in Science (B.Sc), Bachelor’s Degree in Vocational Course (B.Voc), Master’s degree in Science (M.Sc) and Ph.D in faculty of Science from Tumkur University, Tumakuru. College has maintained high quality in academic pursuits, it has state of art campus, infrastructure, laboratories well equipped with ICT enabled learning. The college aims at uncompromising commitment towards excellence in education.

Under the able guidance and leadership of the authorities of Tumkur University, the college is reaching greater heights from all angles. The college is equipping itself with more infrastructure and space in order to accommodate more courses and facilities. A number of faculties in different departments have applied for major and minor research projects, seeking funds from various agencies, while many of them have already got their projects sanctioned.

Principal:  Smt. Shalini B R, Associate Professor, Department of Botany.

Vice-principal: Dr.Shet Prakash .M, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry

News and Events